Friday, April 25, 2008

Review: A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

I had no intention of reading this book because of the negative publicity surrounding Khaled Hosseini's previously published novel, The Kite Runner, and the movie based on it. I know some people who will not watch any movie with rape scenes. Unfortunately, I'm not that ideologically consistent, as my favorite director is Sergio Leone, and his films have a lot of rape scenes.

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Queen Rania of Jordan-Channel on You! Tube

The You! Tube link is

I have some disagreements with the Hashimite Kingdom, but it's government is relatively well-run. In addition, when the royal family speaks, they can at least put sentences together, unlike some other rulers ... I thought this video is a good way to get some thinking going. The Queen has a couple of other videos responding to certain comments, so I've gone ahead and subscribed to her channel. Her official web site is

Sunday, April 20, 2008

Vote for "Make it Your Own" Outstanding Projects

This widget will send you straight to voting for my favorite, Leaders of the New School. Leaders of the New School is a project which aims to partner youth from the south side of Chicago together with artists and mentors to address and help resolve community issues utilizing hip hop and urban arts. Poverty, a lack of resources and senseless violence plague our communities and the youth are the ones paying the consequences. This project will provide an outlet for positive expression and engage and inspire youth in our communities to work for social change.

The other three I selected were Citizen Participation in New Orleans, Juveniles 4 Justice (J4J) in Philadelphia, and Corssing Borders in St. Paul, MN.

Saturday, April 19, 2008

A Deadly Misunderstanding by Mark D. Siljander and John David Mann

A Deadly Misunderstanding: A Congressman's Quest to Bridge the Muslim-Christian Divide (Hardcover) by Mark D. Siljander and John David Mann.

I'm hoping to review this book when it becomes available. Please consider buying it for me from the Muslim Media Review wish list. According to the web site, the book is scheduled for release June 10, 2008.

P.S. I've finished my review.

Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Screening of Film "Talking Through Walls", April 24, 2008, American University, Washington, D.C., USA

Here is information about the film:

Here is information about the screening:

This is the floor plan of the terrace level of the Ward Circle building at the American University campus.

Christian-Muslim Dialogue: Oasis International Studies and Research Centre

The Oasis International Studies and Research Centre (C.I.S.R.O.) is a network of contacts that gives Christians and Muslims a chance to meet and promote mutual knowledge and understanding. Founded in September 2004 by the Patriarch of Venice, Angelo Cardinal Scola, as part of the Studium Generale Marcianum, the Centre sees itself as a venue for the exchange of experiences and points of view between people from different ecclesial realities (some churches in Europe and some Christian communities in predominantly-Muslim countries) and Muslims from various backgrounds.

Wednesday, April 09, 2008 War on the Installment Plan

Powerful Quote from MLK, JR Sermon

From "Paul's Letter to American Christians," as reproduced in Clayborne Carson's and Peter Holloran's A Knock at Midnight: Inspiration from the Great Sermons of Reverend Martin Luther King, Jr.

"You must come to see that is possible for a man to be self-centered in his self-denial and self-righteous in his self-sacrifice. He may be generous in order to feed his ego and pious in order to feed his pride. Man has the tragic capacity to relegate a heightening virtue to a tragic vice. Without love benevolence becomes egotism, and martyrdom becomes spiritual pride." pp. 35-6

Thursday, April 03, 2008

Video of Experiment Demonstrating Varied Responses of Bystanders to Anti-Muslim Prejudice

I think the main lesson here is that most people said nothing, which of course I myself have done at times. The people who did defend the actress are true Americans.

Direct link on YouTube:

Tuesday, April 01, 2008

Unity Productions Foundation-On a Wing and a Prayer-Atlanta Film Festival, April 17, 2008

The Atlanta Film Festival will in sha Allah feature On a Wing and a Prayer Thursday, April 17th at 7:15 PM, Landmark Midtown Art Cinema, Midtown Promenade at 931 Monroe Drive, Atlanta, GA. You can buy tickets at

International Museum of Muslim Cultures, Jackson, MS

The International Museum of Muslim Cultures is holding its 7-year anniversary celebration April 18 and April 19, 2008.

Historians Against the War National Conference, Atlanta, GA April 11-13, 2008

Historians Against the War is holding a national conference and the Peace History Society is holding a national conference at Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA, April 11-13, 2008.