Saturday, July 28, 2012

Islamic Art Galleries Reopen At The Metropolitan Museum of Art

If you are in New York City, check it out!

Recommendation: Time of White Horses by Ibrahim Nasrallah

Nasrallah, Ibrahim. Time of White Horses. Roberts, Nancy (translator). The American University in Cairo Press, 2012. Hardcover, 512 pp. ISBN 977416489X.

I have not read the book.

Friday, July 27, 2012

Looking forward to Musharraf Ali Farooqi's Rabbit Rap: A Twentieth Century Fable

I've previously reviewed a book which Professor Farooqi (Twitter) translated, Adventures of Amir Hamza: Lord of the Auspicious Planetary Conjuction.

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Review: Ramadan by Suhaib Hamid Ghazi

Ghazi, Suhaib Hamid and Rayyan, Omar (illustrator). Ramadan. New York, NY: Holiday House, 1996. Hardcover. ISBN 0-8234-1254-7.

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Review: Falcons on the Floor by Justin Sirois

Sirois, Justin. Falcons on the floor. Baltimore, Maryland: Publishing Genius Press, 2012. ISBN 978-0-9831706-4-8. Softcover, 264 pp.

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Support Herstory Egypt: Words of Women from the Egyptian Revolution

Leil-Zahra Mortada (Twitter) is the director of a YouTube series called Herstory Egypt: Words of Wisdom from the Egyptian Revolution. I've sent in a donation to support it using Indiegogo.

Please support this project by watching the videos, helping translate them into different languages and spreading the word.

And, yes, I know that Leil-Zahra Mortada is "feminist, queer, Arab and anarchist." So?

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Review: Dry: Life Without Water by Ehsan Masood and Daniel Schaffer

Masood E, Schaffer D, editors. Dry: life without water. Cambridge, Massachusetts and London: Harvard University Press: 2006. ISBN: 0-674-02224-6. 192 pp. Illustrated.

I very much enjoyed the profiles Ehsan Masood and Daniel Schaffer provide of the efforts of peoples around the world to live in arid environments. The editors included a bibliography of additional resources, which I've transformed more or less into a Delicious stack.

Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson

The New York Times reviewed Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson (Twitter). I have not read the book.

Support 4th Studio Album by British Afghan musician Yusuf 'Yoshi' Misdaq

"If You Ask Me, Yes" by Yusuf 'Yoshi' Misdaq (blog) has a Kickstarter project to collect donations for its completion. Hena Ashraf (Twitter) urges people to support it. Hena's work has appeared in this blog several times.

Sunday, July 08, 2012